CITY COUNCIL

5 December 2011



APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES, OUTSIDE BODIES ETC.

Report of the Director for Corporate Support.

The City Council is asked to consider the following vacancies and further details relating to the requests are set out overleaf -

	Committee	Membership	Appointments
1.	Incinerator Liaison Committee	Councillor Bowyer and one vacancy	To confirm the appointment of Councillor Bowyer and consider the following nominations to fill the vacancy - Councillors Coker, Evans and Wheeler
2.	Plymouth Citizens Advice Bureau Trustee Board	Cessation of membership of Mrs Joan Watkins (two representatives – current member: Cllr Thompson)	
3.	Plymouth Schools Forum	Three councillors: Cllrs Dr Mahony, Stark and Wildy	Councillor Wildy to be replaced by Councillor Williams
4.	South West Devon Waste Partnership	Resignation of Councillor Bowyer (two Cabinet members – current member Cllr Michael Leaves)	Councillor Ball
5.	South West Regional Flood and Coastal Committee New composition with effect from 1 January 2012	There is no change to the number of the Council's representatives. Current membership: Councillor Lock Councillor Vincent (Deputy)	

The City Council is asked to note -

(6) the following nominations notified to the Assistant Director for Democracy and Governance -

Panel	Panel Membership	
	Councillors Mrs Pengelly, Fry, Ball, Bowyer, Evans, Smith, Lowry (substitute members: Councillors Monahan and Wildy)	

(7) that, the following change of Committee membership has been notified to the Monitoring Officer -

Committee	Change of Membership
Overview and Scrutiny Management Board	Councillor Mrs Dolan has replaced Councillor Mrs Nicholson as the nominated substitute for the Children and Young People Overview and Panel

(8) that Mr Richard Clarke, Independent Member on Audit Committee, has been re-appointed for a further four year period.

(I) Incinerator Liaison Committee (ILC)

At the Council's AGM, the Council nominated three representatives to the Incineration Liaison Committee: Councillors Coker, Evans and Wheeler, with two obervers: Councillors Bowyer and Michael Leaves.

However, the members of the ILC subsequently gave further consideration to the level of city councillor representation they would like to have on their committee and asked for two councillor representatives on the committee, expressing a preference to have one member from each political group.

That request was considered by the City Council on 25 July and Councillor Bowyer was appointed to the Committee, with one vacancy remaining.

The chair of the ILC, recently wrote to the Leader and Shadow Leader asking whether each political group could supply one councillor to sit on the committee. He further stated that they should not be members of the Planning Committee or the South West Devon Joint Waste Partnership Committee. (The committee meets monthly / six weekly).

The Conservative Group has nominated Councillor Bowyer, following his resignation from the South West Devon Joint Waste Partnership Committee and the Labour Group has nominated the three ward representatives: Councillors Coker, Evans and Wheeler.

(2) Plymouth Citizens Advice Bureau

The City Council has been advised that the term of office for Mrs Joan Watkins has ceased as a result of her non attendance at the last five meetings of the Board and the Bureau has been unable to contact her.

Representatives are appointed until such time as they resign or are replaced by Council.

The Council is able to nominate two representatives and the remaining representative is Councillor Thompson.

A further nomination is sought to the Bureau.

(3) Plymouth Schools Forum

At the council's AGM, the council nominated Councillors Dr Mahony, Stark and Wildy to the Plymouth Schools Forum. Councillors are appointed until such time as the councillor resigns or are replaced by Council.

The Labour Group has asked to replace Councillor Wildy with Councillor Williams.

(4) South West Devon Joint Waste Partnership Committee

Further to item (1) above, Councillor Bowyer has resigned from the South West Devon Joint Waste Partnership Committee.

The current membership for Plymouth City Council is two Cabinet members (Councillors Michael Leaves and Bowyer) and one observer (Councillor Vincent).

The Conservative Group has nominated Councillor Ball to fill the vacancy.

(5) South West Regional Flood and Coastal Committee

The Environment Agency has advised the City Council that Ministerial approval has been received for the composition and boundary maps of the new South West Regional Flood and Coastal Committee. The new Committee will start on I January 2012.

There is no change in the number of representatives for Plymouth City Council which remains as one member. The current membership is Councillor Lock and Councillor Vincent as Deputy.

The new composition is -

- a chair to be appointed by the Minister;
- eight persons appointed by the Environment Agency;
- the members appointed by, or on behalf of, each Constituent Authority as set out below -

Constituent Authority	Number of members of the South West Regional Flood and Coastal Committee to be appointed by, or on behalf of, each Constituent Authority
Cornwall Council	Three
Devon County Council	Four
Plymouth City Council	One
Torbay Council	One
Council of the Isles of Scilly	One

The City Council has been asked to confirm its membership.